Spring Peeper

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThat’s me…a Spring Peeper. I can’t get enough of the many different shades of green that start to show as nature comes alive again. Even in the desert where I live we have many different shades of green. It is still early so I took the plunge and went back to the Botanical Garden. Here are a few pictures…..nothing too exciting.

Japanese Garden

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ro0adrunner stare down…willing to stand his ground

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the conservatory

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The cactus nursery

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We seem to be well into spring but there is a lot more to come. Lots of birds have returned and are living in my saltbush and sage thicket. The quail are more active and the cranes have been heading north for several weeks already. Lizards are out as evidenced by the Roadrunners hunting for them. No Hummingbirds yet…still too cool. We’ve had a couple days of rain so things will start to pop soon. My Goldfish in the pond are as excited as I am with the change of seasons. My Mountain Mahogany is budding out. I’m seeing signs of the Wild Heliotrope (AKA Scorpion weed) coming back again so everything will be accented in blue once it starts to bloom.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Good things come to those who wait but better things come to those who get off their butt and work for it. I bought a package of native plant and flower seeds as well as a bunch of milkweed seeds so I’ll be out planting my seeds this week. Bring on the butterflies!! I also found out (after a year and a half) that my sprinkler irrigation system actually does work. My neighbor is astonished because it hasn’t been used in over ten years….not since the first owner moved away.

Leave a Reply

